Home » Uncategorized » ACT V : I’ve had more use for Lamaze in chemo than I ever did in childbirth.

ACT V : I’ve had more use for Lamaze in chemo than I ever did in childbirth.

Act V

I’ve had more use for Lamaze in chemo than I ever did in childbirth.

The way I would choose to describe Act V of chemo would be to say that it has become familiar. It is easier in the sense that when the Neulasta pains come I know it will ease in 2 days; or when I am feeling nauseated I know what to do to settle those muscles. When my mouth tastes full of rancid chemicals, I grab the bio-tene spray. I am tired as all get-out, but I am in control.

“Just breathe…”

I have two kids, and both times labor was so fast that I could hardly catch my breath never mind breathe. But, those Lamaze classes were not wasted!!  I first of all lived through the teen years (BREATHE), and now – chemo.

When that tell-tale sign, you know that watery tingle at the back of your tongue?, when that starts up I focus, breathe in through the nose, slowly out through the mouth… and often times I am able to calm the tummy down. Or at least buy me enough time to hustle to the appropriate facility.

The “hee hee hoooo” breaths work with the Neulasta pains. They come on suddenly and are pretty sharp, the short breaths help to ride them out.

And that grande finale of Lamaze? That “push push” ?   Save that for the next person that asks “Didn’t you go for mammograms?”

2 thoughts on “ACT V : I’ve had more use for Lamaze in chemo than I ever did in childbirth.

  1. At this point in time Line, you are the strongest person I know! Please know that I think of you every day! and say a prayer for you that you’ll stay as strong as you are thru this. LYLAS! I send you hugs and love every day…all day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

