Home » breast cancer » Act IV : Why, Yes! You can take a vacation while in your chemo plan!

Act IV : Why, Yes! You can take a vacation while in your chemo plan!

act_iv

“Well, make sure you stay well rested.” This was the advice when I asked my doctor if it would be okay for me to go on a vacation which had been planned for 6 months. And so that is what Act IV was all about: Staying relaxed and well rested.

Let me begin with emphasizing that I have been blessed with so much good luck in how my body is handling the chemotherapy. I know many people who have really had it rough. I’ve been able to work full time throughout, and have adapted to this ordeal. I think part of it is luck, part of it is tough genes handed down to me by my tough-as-nails parentage, and part of it is my “oh no you don’t” attitude. This is me talking to myself: “whine whine” and I’d then respond with “oh no you don’t! You’re going to Maui for your birthday, what are you complaining about?!”

Yes, I talk to myself. But I do a good job of keeping myself in line.

Last summer I had mentioned that I wanted to spend my birthday (February – always cold, often snowy) somewhere warm and on a beach. I was thinking Florida at the time, until my sweetie said “I’m going to Hawaii – let’s go together!” We talked it over and in a few days had picked a place and booked air/car, it was a done deal! We just had to wait for February! Every so often we’d say to each other, “We’re going to Maui, baby!!”

Then November came and my diagnosis, and the chemo schedule. I had only heard about debilitating chemo stories and fully expected that Maui might be out of the question for this birthday.   I even told my sweetie to see if he could take a cousin or friend and still go. He wouldn’t hear of it. At the time it was the least of my worries and besides what could be done about it except wait and see?

And that is what we did; waiting until chemo 2 was over and had gone well; then talked with my oncologist. My sweetie promised to provide me all the rest and relaxation, and to take very good care of me (which he sure did). After chemo 4, my oncologist printed out my medical record with the diagnosis and treatment spelled out, for me to take with me. He made sure I understood what to be concerned about and what to pay attention to. This was mostly about infections, or catching a bad cold, etc. in which case he wanted me to seek medical attention right away.

So, chemo #4 infusion went as beautifully uneventful as the previous ones. The next day I got the Neulasta shot. Then the next day I drove to his place to leave my car and start my vacation. The shot was starting to kick in and I fell asleep on his couch while he packed up his car and locked up his house. I was already in very good hands as he was attentive to me like this the entire trip. He would watch me and ask “Give me a number?” Like, how was I feeling on a scale of 1 to 10. By the time we were on the plane, I was down to feeling like a 6.5, but hey – we were on our way to Maui !

Maui was gorgeous; full of active whales, amazing scenery, fully scented flowers and greenery everywhere. The lava beds, where the earth is created – right there, and then goes to meet the ocean and the tide pools of little fish swimming in them; felt of centered and healing essence.  Sunsets warmed my heart, as did warm tropical rain and warm friendly people. It was magical.

I had fresh pineapple, fresh salt air and sunshine, fresh flowers! I didn’t wear a wig the whole time I was there, just a beanie for sun protection. I packed way too much, I will know better next time. And I was prepared for everything health wise, which gave me the comfort and ease to go about the day knowing if I needed something I already had it. Oh, and I had brought the Bio-tene mouth spray which was so helpful during the second week when my taste buds went away on their own vacation.

There was much I could not do (the road to Hana on a chemo tummy was not advised) and I will not dwell on that, but will plan for a return trip when I have triumphed this little setback, this speed-bump.

But you know, maybe having a speed-bump was a good reminder to stop and smell the plumeria and live Aloha.

plumeria

2 thoughts on “Act IV : Why, Yes! You can take a vacation while in your chemo plan!

  1. Hawaii is such a gift, and I’m so glad you were able to keep your plans. I’m still waiting to find out if I will need chemo, but for me, the catch is that we spend our summers in LA with my family and I can’t imagine having to give that up for a chemo regimen. I guess we do what we have to do. And yes, there is something incredibly healing and restorative in fresh air, sea breezes, warm winds, and time away from our crazy east coast winters.

    Like

  2. I’m so glad you were able to go and enjoy your trip! I bet it was beautiful! What an adventure for you! Sounds like you have a wonderful guy there to take care of you and see you through this. Just think you are almost done with the chemo and the radiation will be a breeze for you except having to go every day but you can do this! Soon after chemo your taste buds will come back and you will feel so much better! Sending lots of love and positive thoughts your way!

    Like

Leave a Reply

