Home » breast cancer » What I miss, (today).

What I miss, (today).

I miss nose hair.

Have you ever even thought about yours?  I never gave a thought to them before, but I have an appreciation for their role now, that’s for sure!

I live in Reno, Nevada, in what is called “The high desert.” It is dry, can be dusty, and is often breezy.  So, while we don’t have much pollution, the air does carry the desert dust some days.   Add to that, the fact that I am not a good housekeeper (dust bunnies are my pets) and there you have the basis for my less than pristine environment.

I noticed I’ve been sneezing, and my nose will start running.  At first I was concerned I was coming down with a cold (when you are getting chemo your immunity is compromised, so any type of illness – even so minor as a cold – is something the doctors want to know about and monitor).   Then I noted that this sneezing or runny nose would start and stop so quickly.  It is such a brief condition and I was glad for that; but still curious.

Finally it hit me, the light bulb went off, and I had that “ah-HA!” moment: my filters are gone!   Every little bit of dust can easily get breathed in, and does, and sets off a tickle or a sneeze.
Our nose hair must protect us from quite a lot of airborne contaminates from microscopic, to noticeable lints and dust, daily.  That’s a lot of bombardment for the old schnoz when the hair disappears.  So I’ve taken to using the disposable face masks when I do get around to housecleaning and have a saline solution nasal spray too.  Otherwise, I keep a tissue in my pocket for those ahh-choo moments.

Nose hair.  Who would have thought you could miss ’em?

One thought on “What I miss, (today).

  1. Don’t worry, it all comes back soon after chemo ends! You are doing so well(better than I did) Soon you will be all done, and in a few months you can do the happy dance!

    Like

Leave a Reply

