Home » breast cancer » Act III

Act III

act3-001

We’re all so different; even when sharing the same experience. I am halfway through chemo and finding it to be quite manageable; but the thought of the surgery that lies down the road scares me and makes me very nervous.   I talked with a friend about this tonight and she said that months of chemo sounds more unbearable to her than getting surgery after which you are immediately recovering.

I’d like to share my moments of success in dealing with the chemo side effects. And I would really like to know what has worked for others in this area too. Here’s what has worked for me:

The nausea; I have fortunately inherited a cast-iron stomach but nonetheless have experienced the queasy yukkiness. The medications given to prevent it do a great job at keeping it at bay, but there still have been moments. I’ve triggered the problem at times. I drink a lot of water, and while true it is good for you to drink plenty, I would down a full glass which was too much for my stomach to take in on those sensitive days. Pepto-Bismal has helped me on those days, and drinking room temperature ginger ale or orange Gatorade. Another friend has had good results with peppermint tea. Ginger candy ( gin-gin ) is great. This worked wonders for me after my first chemo session, but my taste buds have been super sensitive since then and I have not been able to eat them again – yet!

And speaking of taste buds; my sense of taste gets really bad for the first 2 weeks of chemo. I have to eat small amounts that are not hot, and swallow it quickly. I feel like my mouth is full of something acidic and rancid. Things will smell delightful, but once in my mouth this awful taste is triggered.   Any taste is amplified, so spicy becomes super spicy, and so sharp that it hurts. I used to say I loved “food on fire” because of my love of hot and spicy; i.e.: my favorite pizza is Black Rock Pizza’s “The Brush Fire”. Oh man, I miss enjoying food! But, I know this is temporary and I will enjoy it all the more when I get my taste buds back. In the meantime, a friend told me she used Biotene spray. I will be testing that out after my next infusion. I also take the store brand of prilosec and tums, because this acidic feeling gives me bad heartburn too. What I can eat at this time that really helps is real Italian Ice. It doesn’t fill you up, it’s soothing, and made with real fruit so it is good for you too.

I have always been prone to canker sores my whole life, till finally a doctor told me to try L-Lysine. I take it that moment I feel a tingle of a sore starting, and it has worked. I rarely get them anymore. Now during this ordeal, I take it beginning day 7 after chemo until I get to feeling almost normal again.

For my skin breaking out, I soak in a tub with Epson salts – often times including essential oils of some sort. This is very soothing in and of itself, but it is good for my skin too. I use coconut oil for moisturizer (moisturizer is essential in the high desert where I live in Reno Nevada). When I first break out it feels very itchy, like an allergic reaction. So for those times I use hydrocortisone, and twice I took Benadryl for the itchiness.

I get cold easily, so I keep some kind of heating wrap with me always; an electric blanket or a microwaveable heating pad. And now that my scalp is not sore, I can wear hats, scarves, and wigs. I’d suggest browsing etsy. I have a couple hats from here that I really like:  https://www.etsy.com/shop/CJHats

and here: http://www.curediva.com/shop-by-product/hats-head-covers.html

I hope these are helpful tidbits for someone; feel free to share your own helpful hints too!

One thought on “Act III

  1. Hey Line! I have the acid reflux/heartburn thing myself. I found Tums sometimes worked, but because they had the minty flavor it would sometimes seem to make it worse. I tried another one called Gaviscon. No mint in it and it actually reminds me of a very light lemon creme flavor. It has worked the best for me. (with Tums or Rolaids I can’t do the fruit flavored ones either…makes me nauseous lol)

    Like

Leave a Reply

